Produced by
Mimi Holloway

Five Plays | Five Directors | Five Casts

One Fantastic Evening!

(Not covered by Season Tickets) 

2020 Performance Dates

Fridays & Saturdays
November 6 – 21 at 8pm
Matinee, Sunday Nov. 15 at 3pm


The FOO consists of five 20-minute original plays by five different playwrights, with five different directors and five different casts. It is an eclectic grouping of plays submitted from all over the U.S., as well as a number of foreign countries.

Scroll to the bottom for submission guidelines and information for consideration.

This years FOO includes:

"Don't Call Me Cupid" - Written by Jonathan Cook, North Augusta, SC

Directed by Sam Martinez


Mary Faler as Katheryn

Claire Metusalem as Paige

Dano Colon as Travis

Terrance Simon as Eros

"All of Usses" - Written by Tristan Young Mercado, Pflugerville, TX

Directed by Vicky McCormick


Tanya Terry

Regina Kirkland

"The Stand-Off" - Written by Christian Jacob Ramon, Austin, TX

Directed by John Mitsakis


Sri Vengalathur - Gangster

Lance Stodghill - Agent

"Zeitgeist" - written by Dan Borengasser, Springdale, AR

Directed by Justin Holloway


Brian Heaton

Brit Garcia

Sriram Vengalathur

"A Safe Love" - written by Lindsey Brown, Auckland, New Zealand ... 

Directed by Steve Carpentier


actor name / character name


Submissions for the 2021 festival of originals Deadline is 3/31/2021. Guidelines are listed below. (Please note, guidelines are subject to change at the discretion of TSW.) 


General guidelines

  • Limit of two entries per playwright of an original work that has not been published or produced.

  • Monologues and one man/woman plays are not accepted.

  • All genres are accepted (light comedies, heavy dramas, thrillers, mystery, sci-fi, satire) with no regard to language or subject matter.

  • All plays should be approximately 20 minutes long, no exceptions. (If using standard play format a good gauge is 17-22 pages, excluding title page).

  • There is no maximum limit of characters or sets, but common sense should be used as 5 plays will be produced in one evening.

Submission guidelines

  • NEW MANDATORY GUIDELINE: DO NOT staple scripts. Scripts must be securely bound by either a three-hole punch with brads or a folder with three-prong fasteners. .

  • Scripts are accepted by mail only (no email or PDFs) and must be postmarked by March 15, 2021. Scripts are not returned.

  • Scripts should have a title page that includes the play title and playwright's contact information (address, phone and email), as well as a list of characters and a brief, one paragraph synopsis of the play. Script pages should be numbered.

  • There is NO ENTRY FEE.


Playwrights selected will be informed prior to the event. 
The five selected authors each receive a $100 stipend.

Mail entries (postmarked by March 15)  to:

Theatre Southwest
8944-A Clarkcrest
Houston, TX 77063





For a $50 donation, a cardboard copy of yourself will be placed in one of the designated social distance seats for the entire run of the FOO.

Now you can support the actors, be a part of our audience, and help us "fill" our seats without having to leave your house.

(Of course, you are always welcome to attend in person)

Simply follow the link below, enter your $50 donation and select "seat donation" for your donation reason. A TSW board member will reach out to you finalize your image setup.